

EB-2007-0031

**IN THE MATTER OF** the *Ontario Energy Board Act, 1998*, S.O. 1998, c. 15, Schedule B;

**AND IN THE MATTER OF** cost award eligibility for interested parties in a consultation process to develop a policy framework for electricity distribution rate design.

**BEFORE:** Pam Nowina

Presiding Member and Vice Chair

Paul Vlahos Member

Ken Quesnelle

Member

## **DECISION ON COST ELIGIBILITY**

On March 30, 2007, the Ontario Energy Board (the "Board") issued a letter to interested parties giving notice of the consultation process that the Board intends to use in relation to the development of a policy framework for electricity distribution rate design. That letter also notified interested parties that cost awards would be available to eligible persons under section 30 of the *Ontario Energy Board Act, 1998* in relation to their participation in this consultation process, and that any costs awarded would be recovered from rate-regulated licensed electricity distributors.

On July 23, 2007, the Board received a late request to participate and a late request for cost eligibility from the Ontario Sustainable Energy Association ("OSEA"). The letter containing these requests has been posted on the Board's website, and OSEA has been added as a registered participant in this consultation.

Stage 1 of this consultation process (the provision of written comments on Board staff's Discussion Paper) has now been completed, and the Board has issued its Notice of

Hearing for Cost Awards for stage 1. OSEA did not participate in stage 1, and its request for eligibility for costs relates to subsequent stages of the consultation.

Electricity distributors were given an opportunity to file any objections they might have in relation to the eligibility of OSEA for an award of costs. The Board did not receive any objections from distributors.

Based on the criteria set out in section 3 of the Board's *Practice Direction on Cost Awards* (the "*Practice Direction*"), the Board has determined that OSEA is eligible for cost awards for future stages of this project.

ONTARIO ENERGY BOARD

Original signed by

Pamela Nowina
Presiding Member and Vice Chair

Original signed by

Paul Vlahos
Member

Original signed by

Ken Quesnelle

Member