Ontario Energy Board

P.O. Box 2319 2300 Yonge Street 27th Floor

Toronto ON M4P 1E4 Telephone: (416) 481-1967 Facsimile: (416) 440-7656

Toll Free: 1-888-632-6273

Rosemarie T. Leclair

Chair & CFO

Commission de l'énergie de l'Ontario

C.P. 2319 2300, rue Yonge 27e étage

Toronto ON M4P 1E4 Téléphone: (416) 481-1967 Télécopieur: (416) 440-7656 Numéro sans frais: 1-888-632-6273

Rosemarie T. Leclair

Présidente et Directrice Générale

September 17, 2014



Mr. Bruce Campbell President and Chief Executive Officer Independent Electricity System Operator 655 Bay Street, Suite 410 Toronto, ON M5G 2K4

Dear Mr. Campbell:

RE: Market Surveillance Panel Monitoring Report

The Market Surveillance Panel ("MSP") has delivered to me its Monitoring Report on the IESO-Administered Electricity Markets for the period from May 2013 to October 2013 (the "MSP Report"). I attach a copy of the MSP Report for your reference.

The MSP Report sets out two recommendations which the Panel believes will enhance transparency, price fidelity and the allocation of certain uplift payments. Both of the recommendations are addressed to the Independent Electricity System Operator ("IESO"). The first recommendation is that the IESO make more information available about its practice of de-rating Control Action Operation Reserve. The second is that the IESO revise the way in which it allocates uplift charges associated with its generation cost guarantee programs so that the charges to Ontario consumers and to exporters better reflect the extent to which each group causes those payments to be incurred.

I would appreciate if you would advise me in writing within 30 days of: a) the steps that the IESO plans to take in response to the recommendations in the MSP Report and the timelines for completion of those steps; and b) whether, in the IESO's view, any actions or market rule amendments, in addition to those reflected in the MSP's recommendations, should be taken or initiated.



Please do not hesitate to contact me should you have any questions or wish to discuss the above.

Yours truly,

Rosemarie T. Leclair

Chair, Ontario Energy Board

cc Glenn Leslie, Chair, Market Surveillance Panel