

### BY E-MAIL AND WEB POSTING

December 6, 2021

- To: All Parties to EB-2020-0091 (Enbridge Gas Inc. Integrated Resource Planning Proceeding) All Nominees to the Integrated Resource Planning Technical Working Group
- Re: Integrated Resource Planning Technical Working Group (EB-2021-0246) -Membership Selection

This letter confirms the initial membership of the Integrated Resource Planning Technical Working Group (Working Group).

## Background:

The OEB's July 22, 2021 <u>Decision and Order</u> established an Integrated Resource Planning (IRP) Framework for Enbridge Gas Inc. (Enbridge). Integrated resource planning involves consideration of both traditional facility solutions and alternative supply- or demand-side solutions to meet Enbridge's identified natural gas system needs. The IRP Framework provides direction on the OEB's requirements for IRP for Enbridge.

The Decision and Order (Chapter 10) required the OEB to establish a Technical Working Group led by OEB staff, to provide input on IRP issues that will be of value to both Enbridge for implementation and to the OEB in its oversight of the IRP Framework. The Working Group is expected to support an efficient and transparent implementation of this initial phase of the IRP Framework, facilitating future innovation in the energy sector regarding appropriate responses to emerging system needs.

#### **Membership Selection:**

On October 19, 2021, the OEB issued a <u>call for nominations</u> for non-utility members for the Working Group. The OEB indicated that the Working Group would also include representation from OEB staff and Enbridge, and could include EPCOR Natural Gas Limited Partnership and the Independent Electricity System Operator (IESO). The OEB indicated that, as per the IRP Decision and Order, the Working Group would be kept to a manageable size to ensure timely and effective consultation, and is expected to have approximately 10 members.

The OEB has selected seven non-utility members from 20 nominations received, and has also confirmed the representatives from OEB staff and Enbridge, and observers representing

EPCOR and the IESO. In making its selections for non-utility members, the OEB selected a group of members with a variety of relevant experience and expertise, and with limited duplication or omission of key skills. As per the Decision and Order, all members have relevant demonstrable technical expertise that relates to and informs the activities to be addressed by the Working Group.

Non-utility members will participate on the Working Group as individuals, not as representatives of an organization. Given the size of the Working Group, representation of all constituencies or interests potentially impacted by Enbridge's IRP activities is not possible. The Working Group may seek to make use of the expertise or input from other parties as appropriate in its work. It is also expected that there will be additional opportunities to contribute to the implementation of the IRP Framework, including participating in Enbridge's IRP stakeholder engagement process or in IRP-related regulatory proceedings before the OEB.

The initial membership of the Working Group is set out in Appendix A. The term of the Working Group is estimated to be for an initial period of two years.

The OEB thanks all nominees for their interest in participating on the Working Group.

#### **Next Steps**

It is anticipated that the Working Group will generally meet on a monthly basis. The OEB intends to hold the first IRP Working Group meeting in January 2022. Initial agenda items will include approving a terms of reference and developing a workplan based on the near-term priorities for the Working Group. Following Working Group meetings, the OEB will post the key outcomes and related meeting materials on its <u>website</u> unless materials are determined to be confidential, to allow stakeholders to follow the Working Group's progress.

Any questions related to the IRP Technical Working Group should be directed to Michael Parkes at <u>Michael.Parkes@oeb.ca</u>.

DATED at Toronto, December 6, 2021

**ONTARIO ENERGY BOARD** Original signed by

Christine E. Long Registrar

# Appendix A: IRP Technical Working Group Members

Name	Role
Michael Parkes	OEB staff representative (Working Group chair)
Stephanie Cheng	OEB staff representative
Chris Ripley	Enbridge Gas representative
Jeff Mazzei	Enbridge Gas representative
Amber Crawford, Association of Municipalities of Ontario	Non-utility member
John Dikeos, ICF Consulting Canada Inc.	Non-utility member
Tammy Kuiken, DNV	Non-utility member
Cameron Leitch, EnWave Energy Corporation	Non-utility member
Chris Neme, Energy Futures Group	Non-utility member
Dwayne Quinn, DR Quinn & Associates Ltd.	Non-utility member
Jay Shepherd, Shepherd Energy Rubenstein Professional Corporation	Non-utility member
Kenneth Poon, EPCOR Natural Gas LP	Observer
Steven Norrie, Independent Electricity System Operator	Observer