Time-of-use holiday schedule

October 13, 2020 - The OEB announced new electricity prices for households and small businesses, effective November 1, under the Regulated Price Plan. The winter Time-Of-Use (TOU) hours and the winter Tier threshold for residential customers, which were maintained for the summer 2020 period, will remain in effect on November 1. Since June 1, 2020, residential and small business customers on TOU have been paying a fixed electricity price of 12.8 ¢/kWh for all hours of the day as part of the government’s response to the COVID-19 pandemic. 

If you’re a residential or small business customer that pays TOU prices, you can now choose to switch to Tiered prices.

Electricity used on weekends and holidays is charged the off-peak price. This page lists the holidays when off-peak time-of-use (TOU) prices are in effect.

Note: If a holiday falls on a weekend, the next weekday (that is not also a holiday) will have off-peak prices in effect all day.

2020 time-of-use (TOU) holiday schedule

Day of off-peak pricing Holiday
Wednesday, January 1 New Year’s Day
Monday, February 17 Family Day
Friday, April 10 Good Friday
Monday, May 18 Victoria Day
Wednesday, July 1 Canada Day
Monday, August 3 Civic Holiday
Monday, September 7 Labour Day
Monday, October 12 Thanksgiving Day
Friday, December 25 Christmas Day
Monday, December 28

Boxing Day